June 2020

What a year it has been so far. I cannot believe it is a full year since the last post here! How did that happen? We as a group were rather busy last year getting work ready for the exhibition we had planned for this year: “Woven Together”. We will be incorporating our 2019 challenge pieces as our main exhibit, and everyone is providing up to two extra works apiece in addition. The work is completed in the main – the exhibition was scheduled to run from August through to October 2020; however due to circumstances beyond our control, this has now been postponed, and will run 24 July – 18 September 2021, still in Pine Rivers Art Gallery which is being relocated currently to another location. More later!

Like everyone, we have had a forced break due to the Covid19 restrictions, but were back together for our first gathering in almost 3 months. It was a lively meeting, with several discussions precipitated by two of our founding members who have decided it is time to wind down their creative lives a little, and relax and enjoy other activities. We are very sorry to see them go, wish them all the best and of course we will keep in touch.

What everyone was working on:

Show and Tell:

About Sue Duffy Designs

A Textile Artist who works in all things stitched, appliqued, embellished and quilted. With a background in traditional quilting, I produce textile wall art, 3D works, and "Artyfacts". I am also known to still do the occasional traditional quilt.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Creative Cloth, Exhibitions, Meeting News, Members Work, Textile Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June 2020

  1. judith841 says:

    Hi all,sorry to hear that 2 are taking a break. I am part of a small group of 4 here in Tasmania. I still miss you all and this year I won’t be travelling to Qld due to the virus of course. It’s cold down here and the winters are hot to my liking. In Oct/Nov. I am participating with the girls down here in an exhibition. This is my piece. Not very good photos but I guess you get an idea. Size is one metre height and width about 1.5 . If i manage to Photo a finished look I will send at the end of the year. How many of you in the group these days and who is taking a break? All the best for the remainder of the year with my best wishes Judith.

    Judith McKinlay @ FELT LIKE IT

    On Fri, 19 Jun. 2020, 8:35 pm Reddy Arts Textile Group, wrote:

    > Sue Duffy Designs posted: “What a year it has been so far. I cannot > believe it is a full year since the last post here! How did that happen? We > as a group were rather busy last year getting work ready for the exhibition > we had planned for this year: “Woven Together”. We will be inc” >

    Like

  2. judith841 says:

    Winter not to my liking ……

    Judith McKinlay @ FELT LIKE IT

    Like

  3. I saw that you were getting snow down there!

    Like

  4. Judith can you please email the photo of your work and I will pass it on? It doesn’t show up here.

    Like

Leave a comment